A Crippling Lack of Motivation…

I am smack bang in the middle of one of the most exciting times of my life; and I can’t seem to leave my apartment.

I have it pretty easy, work-wise. I work just under 30 hours a week, with my days generally not starting until roughly 3pm. Depending on where they send me, as my whole week is currently just EM-SUB shifts, it means that at the earliest, I don’t have to leave for work until around 2pm.  This means I have the entire morning every day, plus my two days off per week (which is actually a bit of a rarity in Japan, given that many Japanese people work 6 days a week with 12 hour shifts), to do whatever I damn well please.  So what do I do with all that free time, you might ask? Answer: A big fat NOTHING! I stay up late doing nothing (ie watch tv/movies, or play silly games on my phone) just so I can get up late to continue doing nothing until I have to leave for work.

Yes, I have done some fun things since I came to Japan.  I have been to festivals, celebrated Halloween – Japan Style, gone to a shrine on Culture Day and seen a trillion little girls dressed in THE most adorable and beautiful kimono, and I have even managed to go and get/do some Purikura.  I have drunk alcohol on the street, just because I can, and I have walked home at 4am because the subways hadn’t started yet. I have done many fun and interesting things, but I should have done MORE! I have been far too lazy and I can’t seem to break the habit!

There are some very simple things that I wanted to accomplish on my days off. I even wrote a list! I thought I might be able to cross off some, if not all, of those simple tasks today. Yet here I sit, after having failed to vacuum my apartment, thinking about what a beautiful day it is outside, and how nice it would have been to go for a walk, if only I could find the motivation. Soon it will be dark, and there will be another sunshiny day wasted.  Guaranteed on my next day off, when I might actually feel like accomplishing something outside of my apartment, it will be raining and miserable; because that’s just the way life is.

This is a boring post, after a boring day; so I will leave you with these photos as a reward for putting up with my rant. If I have managed to correctly upload them, then you will see a little snippet of Culture Day at Atsuta Shrine. If you decided tl;dr, then good for you! It was probably a wise move.

Leave a Reply

