The One Where I Turn Twenty Five

I have always said a person isn’t really an adult until they realise how awesome being a kid was.  I could certainly do with less responsibility, less bills, and a lot more free time; but still, I am at a point where growing up doesn’t seem so bad any more.  I even feel like I’ve done quite a bit of it in the last year; growing up that is.  It just took a visit back to the homeland and almost three weeks living under daddy’s roof again to realise it.  The truth is I had gotten far too used to this life I lead, here in Japan, and it had stopped feeling all that exciting.  I am living the dream, but it just feels like life.  Going back home, hearing all my friends and family giving me metaphorical pats on the back for the simple act of having a job and doing my own chores for two years felt bizarre.  But now, after flying halfway back across the world to my tiny little home in Nagoya, I am coming once again to the realisation that what I am doing is pretty damn awesome, and I should be proud of myself.  Who knows if I’ll still feel that way after Monday, and my first day back at work, has ended; but right now I’m feeling pretty positive.

It’s been a fair while since I’ve updated this little blog of mine, and it’s not because I haven’t been having adventures or living an interesting life, it’s from mere laziness and lack of willpower.  This problem has been plaguing me my whole life, but I am slowly trying to improve myself.  I need to learn to resist the call of Gossip Girl (thanks Dean!) and chocolate, and get stuck into doing the things that will make me happy long-term.  Writing is definitely one of those things.  Pretty high on the list actually, so I’m not really sure why it has taken me this long to get back on the horse.  What has motivated me this time (because, let’s be honest, this isn’t the first ‘back after long absence but this time I’m serious, seriously’ blog post I’ve done) is a little leg up from my new buddy, Sachi the Second, a beautiful HP ultrabook that I recently acquired on my trip home.  Goodbye savings!!

So here I am, typing away on this smooth machine, and wondering how much is too much to lump on you with this update.  There’s lots I could say, but I really would like to get this uploaded this century, this year if at all possible.  So with that in mind, I’ll try to keep things brief and to the point.

Hiroshima in Golden Week was an absolute blast, and I am so glad I took the plunge and went solo, but if I launched into all that right now, I fear it would counteract my promise from just moments ago.  So I’ll save that epic tale for another day, and for now just regale you with stories from my various birthday celebrations across the globe (just here and Tas really, but it sounds so much more dramatic that way, don’t you think?) and the events that surrounded those events.  Events. Yeah.

So, my birthday celebrations began at the best local watering hole: 59s!  I invited loads of people, some of whom responded, and so it was with eager anticipation that I waited to find out who would show.  It was an interesting bunch, to be sure! A mix of students, foreign and Japanese co-workers, and random friends met in bars, and then the friends of all those friends.  Luckily people tended to come and go in waves, so at no point was I alone or overcrowded.  The middle of the night has blurred slightly in my memory (possibly due to the biggest SoCo and cranberry I have ever seen, let alone drunk!) but the beginning and the end of the night were both quite memorable and worth relating.

As with most parties, this one began a little awkwardly.  Before the ease of communication that comes with a second or third beverage, a considerably intoxicated middle-aged Korean Japanese man was thrust into my presence, and introduced as my student’s ex-boss.  He insisted on buying me a drink, then singing me happy birthday loudly, drunkenly, and with a lot of added spittle.  I had a very unlucky human shield between him and me, so I was spared the majority of the spray; it was an interesting performance, to say the least.  He then insisted my student serenade me in Korean (his rendition had been in heavily accented English).  This was a much more remarkable performance, despite the fact that by then the wine was already flowing (the most expensive bottle on the menu, to be shared around everyone who had arrived by then; thanks random old Korean dude!).

And so we talked, we drank, we laughed.  People came and went, and eventually there was a small enough group left to warrant a change in scene.  KARAOKE TIME!! I started us off with an impeccable delivery of ‘Do You Wanna Build a Snowman?’ in Japanese; a song which I had practiced and then performed with two other girls for our end-of-term Japanese class party.  Karaoke is something which I will always take great pleasure in.  It is fun, carefree, and an excellent way to release all the stress built up over the working week.  We stumbled out of our karaoke room at around 4am; tired, but happy, and wishing the first train wasn’t such a long time away.  Two of the girls fell into a waiting taxi and headed off into the early morning, while the three of us remaining meandered along until we found ourselves at the closest of our apartments.  We crashed.  We rose.  We ate pancakes for breakfast – a fitting end to a more than satisfactory beginning of my birthday celebrations.

I think that might be a good place to leave you for now.  I need to have lunch and get ready for work. I will continue this, possibly even add some pictures, at some point in the near future, and if I get into the habit of writing short, succinct little pieces on a regular basis, then who knows, maybe I’ll learn how to not write run-on sentences!  I mean become less of a once in a blue moon writer, and more of a blogger.  Wish me luck 🙂 

One thought on “The One Where I Turn Twenty Five

Leave a Reply

